Six Melodies

Out of print

A seq-uence by Chris Holdaway
Published July 2014
Edition of 45
ISBN 978-0-9941123-0-8

“But what if we push beyond the picture of atomized cities to imagine not what passes but what is created at the end of human time? . . . After the last dam bursts, after the concrete monoliths crumble into the lone and level sands.”

—McKenzie Wark

Out of stock

Category: Tag:


These fragments are inscribed to New Zealand composers.

Each was in part produced by an interaction between the score of John Cage’s Six Melodies for Violin and Keyboard, & a text of the individual’s choosing.

The accompanying quote is lifted from a short essay titled Blue Ruin: Totality and Acceleration, which was posted on March 6th, 2014 on the blog Public Seminar.

Chris Holdaway is a poet & editor from Auckland, New Zealand. He is the author of HIGH-TENSION/FASHION (Greying Ghost, 2017), & directs Compound Press. He received his MFA in poetry from the University of Notre Dame in Indiana, USA, and his MA(Hons) in linguistics from the University of Auckland. His work has been published in Cordite, Cream City Review, The Seattle Review, & Southerly, among others.